

The William Blum Lectures



The William Blum Scientific Achievement Award - Its Background and History

" The Scientific Achievement Award recognizes a person, who has contributed to the advancement of the theory and practice of electroplating, metal finishing and the allied arts, has raised the quality of processes and products, has enhanced the dignity and status of the profession or has been involved in a combination of these. The first recipient of this award was Dr. William Blum *Sr.*, who was instrumental in the establishment of fundamental research in the Society."

The story of the development of the award was described in the *Proceedings of the 1958 AES Technical Conference*, announcing Dr. William Blum as the first recipient:

"That lean, grey, kindly scientist from the shores of the Potomac finally got his "just deserts." And so deservedly did his "just deserts" meet that lean, grey, kindly scientist from the shores of the Potomac, and such a large segment of the American Electroplaters' Society (AES) exulted and exults over the doing, that the story needs telling from beginning to end - from background to deed. Actually, the saga starts back in September 1956. At an Executive Board meeting late that month, the Board decided it was high time that the AES created a Super award ("super" in the same sense as the military's Congressional Medal of Honor) to recognize and honor truly distinguished scientific service to the field of electroplating, metal finishing and allied arts.

There was Board agreement that such recognition should annually be meted not for a single glorious achievement but for consistently outstanding performance by a respected AES member over a long span, say at least a decade or more.

" The Board liked its idea but being properly cautious chose to check its judgment - did so via a committee headed by Past President Kenneth M. Huston and including Myron B. Diggin, Dr. Charles L. Faust, Dr. Walter B. Meyer, Cleveland F. Nixon and Dr. Louis Weisberg.

AES's highest award blueprinted

" Espoused by that Committee, and blueprinted by it, the proposed prize, labeled "AES Scientific Achievement Award," became a reality when its proposed rules and regulations were approved by the Board, then were enacted by the Supreme Society at its Montréal Annual Meeting, June 20, 1957.

" Under the Award's provisions, AES Branches, annually, would nominate AES members who by their "decade plus" accomplishments, either advanced the theory and practice of electroplating, metal finishing and allied arts - raised the quality of processes and products - or enhanced the dignity and status of the profession.

" Those provisions created a "Scientific Achievement Award Committee" charged with the responsibility of choosing among nominees. The first selectee's identity would be announced at the 45th Annual Convention in Cincinnati in May 1958, and he would deliver a lecture at the AES's Golden Jubilee Convention in Detroit in June 1959. Aside from a scroll and other honors, he would then also receive a \$500 cash honorarium from the General Fund of the Society. That pattern would be repeated yearly. The lecture was titled "William Blum Lecture," a popularly acclaimed decision.

Award harnessed and first winner announced

" Upon Supreme Society enactment, the project leaped into action. To that high-honor selection committee, the Board appointed Dr. Abner Brenner, Leslie L. Diveley, Dr. Russell E. Harr, Dr. Samuel Heiman, Leland M. Morse and Dr. Edward A. Parker. Dr. Harr was elected Chairman.

Summer turned to autumn and, by deadline, Branches nominated nine AES stalwarts. And by the time autumn had faded to winter and winter had blossomed to spring, the Committee had made its choice—unanimously. It selected and tapped for his "just deserts," that lean, grey, kindly scientist from the shores of the Potomac.

"At the Cincinnati Annual Meeting, announcement of the deed was tumultuously acclaimed. Hence, as the AES climaxes its Fiftieth Anniversary observance in Detroit in June 1959, the first "William Blum Lecture" will be delivered there by the first "AES Scientific Achievement Award" winner - by that lean, grey, kindly scientist from the shores of the Potomac, Dr. William Blum."



The William Blum Lectures



The William Blum Scientific Achievement Award - Its Background and History

In the years since, with few exceptions, the award was made every year. Upon Dr. Blum's death, the award was named in his honor, "The William Blum AES Scientific Achievement Award" and the accompanying lecture was "The Blum Memorial Lecture."

Over time, the \$500 honorarium was discontinued, but each recipient received a plaque commemorating the honor. The recipient presented the AES Scientific Achievement Award lecture at the opening session of the Annual Technical Conference, which was later published in full in the *Proceedings of the AES Annual Technical Conference*, and later, the society journal, *Plating*, later named *Plating & Surface Finishing*. With a few exceptions, the lecture has always been published in the journal and its successors, including the current *NASF Report* in *Products Finishing* magazine. The complete list of recipients is given in the following table.

AESF William Blum Scientific Achievement Award Recipients

Dr. William Blum	1958	Dr. J.P. Hoare	1988
Dr. A. Kenneth Graham	1959	Dr. Huk Y. Cheh	1989
Dr. Charles L. Faust	1960	Dr. Tadao Hayashi	1990
Dr. Abner Brenner	1961	Dr. Lubomyr Romankiw	1991
Dr. W Andrew Wesley	1962	Dr. Christoph J. Raub	1992
R.A.F. Hammond	1963	Dr. David Lashmore	1993
None Selected	1964	Dr. David Gabe	1994
Dr. Harold J. Read	1965	Dr. Juan Hajdu	1995
Dr. Henry B. Linford	1966	Dr. James H. Lindsay	1996
Dr. Henry Brown	1967	Christian E. Johnson	1997
Prof. Dr. Hellmuth Fischer	1968	Dr. George A. DiBari	1998
Arthur H. DuRose	1969	Dr. Ralph White	1999
Dr. Jesse E. Stareck	1970	Dr. Dieter Landolt	2000
Dr. T.P. Hoar	1971	Dr. Sc. Vladimir Kudryavtsev	2001
Dr. Otto Kardos	1972	Dr. Branko Popov	2002
Dr. George Dubpernell	1973	No Selection	2003
Dr. Ernst Raub	1974	Dr. Howard W. Pickering	2004
Fielding Ogburn	1975	No Selection	2005
Dr. Joseph B. Kushner	1976	No Selection	2006
Dr. Burton B. Knapp	1977	Dr. E. Jennings Taylor	2007
Dr. Frederick A. Lowenheim	1978	Dr. Eric W. Brooman	2008
William H. Safranek, CEF	1979	Dr. Donald Snyder	2009
Dr. Joseph Edwards	1980	Dr. Kenneth Newby	2010
Dr. Rolf Weil	1981	Dr. Patrick Benaben	2011
Fred Pearlstein, CEF	1982	Dr. Hideyuki Kanematsu	2012
Dr. Harold J. Wiesner	1983	Dr. Yinlun Huang	2013
Dr. Yutaka Okinaka	1984	Dr. Hudson Bates	2014
Jack Dini	1985	Dr. Melissa Klingenberg	2015
Dr. Simon Wernick	1986	No Selection	2016
Dr. Morton Antler	1987	Dr. Per Møller	2017